Picture
The photo I chose to illustrate this post shows how much our communication technology has changed in just the past two decades--and it doesn't even show the latest advances in smartphones.  Changes in technology seem to happen every day, which is why I refuse to ever say that I'm an expert in anything technology-related; not only are there new versions and tools popping up constantly, there is seems to be more "bells and whistles" attached to each tool, and I'm fully aware that I don't know at least half of them!  With all the hardware, software, and online applications available to schools, educators, and students in this digital age, it is a matter of finding what is easy, cost-efficient, and useful for the learning community.  

What I do have going for me is that I am not a technophobe.  I am ready, willing, and able to explore the possibilities for educational technology.  I am a hands-on learner who needs to "mouse for myself" and play around with hardware and software before I feel comfortable using it with students and staff.  I recognize that training takes time, and that is a precious commodity.  I also realize this means a change in the role of teacher-librarian, but I am excited by the prospects.  I want to have information available for my patrons in the form which suits them best, and for our digital natives, that means not only online access for the most current information, but also tools to create and produce their own materials for learning and assessment.  I hope that the next two weeks of this module will provide me with more technological experience and knowledge that I can turn around and use in my classroom and future library position.




Leave a Reply.